Plugin not loading state in Reaper (noob questions part 2), but stand-alone

As a beginner, I am currently running into some serious problem when loading stored parameters:

One test plugin here uses the generic editor only and correctly loads its state using method setStateInformation. So far so good.

Now I made a second test plugin to see what kind of method is called in what situation using a normal (custom) editor. It looks like the state is not loaded, because setStateInformation is not called when reopening a Reaper session where the plugin is instantiated. I have no idea what prevents it to load. In the stand-alone version of this code, the state is correctly stored and loaded, but not in plugin mode.

PluginEditor.cpp (3.0 KB)
PluginEditor.h (956 Bytes)
PluginProcessor.cpp (2.5 KB)
PluginProcessor.h (2.6 KB)

The plugin has a counter as a state to be incremented each time the plugin is loaded (or started).
Also, I instantiate a parameterfloat and store it although it’s not used, just to avoid the case that no “official” parameter exists.

img1 is the plugin freshly opened, img2 is the plugin reopened in the same session. Destructor and Constructor are called. img3 is the Reaper session reopened: no call of setStateInformation. img4 is the stand-alone version which behaves correctly.

Does anyone have an idea what prevents the function to be called? Is it only called when there is some parameter linked to a slider? (attachment object actually exists). Those parameterfloats are only automatically shown when there is a generic editor. I dunno yet any way to make them visible in a custom editor, but that’s a different story.

Thanks

It looks like Reaper doesn’t bother calling get/setStateInformation if the parameter values haven’t actually changed. You are not changing the “dummy” parameter’s value anywhere in your code after you have constructed it. But if I change your prepareToPlay to the following, the setStateInformation call will happen