Preview audio in VST without relying on ProcessBlock

I'm trying to include a feature in my VST sampler that allows the user to preview a sound. I'm new to VST development, but it seems like the only way for a VST to render audio is to wait for a call to processBlock(). Is there a way to add this feature without relying on the host calling processBlock()? Alternatively, is there a way to indicate to the host that clicks on a certain region should induce a call to processBlock()?

In case I didn't do a good job explaining what I'm trying to accomplish, take a look at the drum rack instrument in ableton. You can hit the "play" triangle to hear any of the samples in the drum rack even when the transporter isn't moving. Is the only reason they're able to accomplish this because the drum rack is a native to ableton?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

~ Doron

You're totally missing the point here... Yes, the only way to get audio out of the plugin is through processBlock, but that doesn't in any way stop you using it to play free samples or whatever you want, at any time you want!

Hello and thanks for the fast response. 

I now understand that I should call processBlock on my own. I can feel myself moving closer to the point. 

I believe my remaining confusion has to do with an improper understanding of the relationship between audio plugins and their host. In a very abstract sense, I imagine a plugin host as a program that continously creates audio sample buffers as time progresses, asks the various plugins and synthesizers to do some work to that audio sample buffer (in this case, by calling processBlock), and then render the final contents of the audio sample buffer. 

In this (presumably flawed) architecture, there is no opportunity for the host to render audio sample buffers that are allocated by a plugin, and no way for the host to be aware of a call to processBlock that originates from a plugin.