processBlock vs getNextAudioBlock

I am an audio newb and a professional C++ developer. Please pardon my question if it misses the obvious

The AudioSourceChannelInfo parameter of the getNextAudioBlock() override allows me to determine which channels are active using getActiveInputChannels() and getActiveOutputChannels()

The AudioBuffer parameter of the processBlock() override allows me to get the number of channels with getNumChannels(). Should I assume that the channels returned by getNumChannels() are all active? How would I know which is an input channel and which is an output channel?

WHAT I AM TRYING TO ACCOMPLISH

I would like to adjust the Input and Output levels individually.

I’m pretty sure the channels in that AudioBuffer instance are both the input and output channels. that’s why it’s a reference, and not a const reference.

if you wanted to separate the two, you could have some other AudioBuffer member variable that you use as the output and for processing.

void processBlock(AudioBuffer<>& buffer, MidiBuffer& midiBuffer) {
     //obviously make this a pre-allocated member variable, not a local which allocates when copied.
    auto tempBuffer = buffer;
    tempBuffer.applyGain(...); //adjust your input gain.

processDSP(tempBuffer);

tempBuffer.applyGain(...); //adjust your output gain

buffer = tempBuffer; //now copy it back
}

it’s just an idea.

Where are you using/seeing getNextAudioBlock()?

processBlock() is specific to AudioProcessor, which is what DAWs call automatically for you when your plugin is instantiated on a track.

I believe the getNextAudioBlock() is usually for audio application-related stuff you’re writing yourself.

processBlock (juce::AudioBuffer& buffer, juce::MidiBuffer& midiMessages),
has a reference to a juce specific Audiobuffer, filled with floats.

Of course you can get some information out of the methods belonging to the AudioBuffer class.