Q: Channel Swapping segfaults (Linux/Jack) and best practices for Audio Apps?

Hello Juce team and community. I want to start off by saying thanks to the devs for your work on this software. You guys have probably helped me reduce months of work into what will hopefully result in a functional prototype for my audio app in the next week or so. I’ve only been at the Juce development stage for a few days, and I’m pretty satisfied with the progress I’m making.

Now on to Business:

I’m new to Juce and C++, and I was using some snippets from the “Processing Audio Input” tutorial. In the first line in the body of getNextAudioBlock(), you guys initialize a pointer to deviceManager.getCurrentAudioDevice().

• It seems when a juce project is executed while the linux jack server is running, there is quite a delay in start up. The audio device pointers seems to be null when the audio app component first calls getNextAudioBlock(), and this causes a segfault.

I wrapped device in an if statement, and things were running smoothly. At this point, I can pass an input buffer sample to the AudioVisualiserComponent and see a waveform, so I’m know I’m getting data through. Great! Now if I start playing around with the input and output channel options produced by AudioSelectorComponent, I get three problems.

1. The gui is not responsive after disabling all channels. E.g. after turning off all output channels it becomes difficult to turn them back on.

2. Toggling the channels on and off inside the project eventually causes a segfault.

3. Toggling the connections in jack eventually causes the error “AddressSanitizer: heap-use-after-free”