Questions about juce w/regards to building 3d apps

Hi all,

I’m radiance, the founder of http://www.luxrender.net :slight_smile:

I’m considering using the juce toolkit for an OSS 3d app.
I’m completely new to it, been reading up and playing with the demos etc, and have a few questions:

• what backend does the juice UI drawing uses ? is it opengl ?
  • i’ll be making heavy use of opengl 3d viewports, and i’ll be needing lots of performance, are there any limitations with opengl while using juce ? (eg, adding/using glut/glee/vertex-fragment-geometry shaders, etc…)
  • if i use the opengl component (as in the juce demo), is there any performance loss compared to a traditional gl/glut double buffered raw window ? or can i use juce for UI management and create my own opengl raw opengl viewports, similar to building one intop of a wxwidgets frame ?

thanks for your time :slight_smile:

Radiance

hello! Looks like a nice project you’ve got there, would love to see it running on juce!

The normal 2D UI rendering is all done in software, which was historically the best/only way to do decent rendering. Nowadays, with the new Vista rendering stuff, and CoreGraphics performance looking good, I might change that.

For opengl, there’s a component you can embed that gives you a native gl surface to play with - best ask other people to comment on the performance of this, as I don’t have much first-hand experience of using it in my own projects, but I don’t think there’s any reason why it’d be slower than opengl in any other kind of app.

Yes, you can intermix juce and OpenGL quite well. You might find at some point that you hit a limitation to the ‘OpenGLComponent and Timer’ approach that is most like Glut, but there’s ways around it, and getting juce’s other classes and basic app framework is invaluable.

[topic Hijack]