Reference a parameter value in prepareToPlay?

Is it possible to reference a parameter value for prepareToPlay? This code is from a JUCE ADC conference (simple delay). I would like to replace the fixed delay value (delayMilliseconds = 200.0f) with a variable value from the delayLength slider. I can’t figure out how to correct the error generated by the variable delayMilliseconds: “expression must have arithmetic or unscoped enum type” .
I would appreciate any guidance … I am a beginner with C++.
Thank You.
Bruno

AudioProcessor::AudioProcessor()
#ifndef JucePlugin_PreferredChannelConfigurations
     : AudioProcessor (BusesProperties()
                     #if ! JucePlugin_IsMidiEffect
                      #if ! JucePlugin_IsSynth
                       .withInput  ("Input",  juce::AudioChannelSet::stereo(), true)
                      #endif
                       .withOutput ("Output", juce::AudioChannelSet::stereo(), true)
                     #endif
                       )
#endif
    , state(*this, nullptr, "STATE", {
        std::make_unique<juce::AudioParameterFloat>("gain",     "Gain",           0.0f, 1.0f, 0.5f),
        std::make_unique<juce::AudioParameterFloat>("feedback", "Delay Feedback", 0.0f, 1.0f, 0.35f),
        std::make_unique<juce::AudioParameterFloat>("mix",      "Dry / Wet",      0.0f, 1.0f, 0.5f),
        std::make_unique<juce::AudioParameterFloat>("delayLength", "DelayL",       1.0f, 20.0f, 10.0f)
        })
{
}

void AudioProcessor::prepareToPlay (double sampleRate, int samplesPerBlock)
{

//  Original code uses fixed delay value ... delayMilliseconds = 200.0f
//  float delayMilliseconds = 200.0f;
    auto delayMilliseconds = state.getRawParameterValue("delayLength");
    auto delaySamples = ((int)std::round(sampleRate * delayMilliseconds / 1000.0f));
    delayBuffer.setSize(2, delaySamples);
    delayBuffer.clear();
    delayBufferPos = 0;

}