Repainting performance

I’m writing an audio application with a few vu meters spread around the gui. The vu meters all update in response to the same timer callback, about 30 times per second. The problem is that even though the dirty regions related to these updates are very small, they are spread around the whole gui, and it seems that juce repaints all controls that fall between any dirty regions, even though they are not themselves dirty. This leads to a performance problem, since there are many controls, complicated effects &c. I’ve tried using setBufferedToImage, but that doesn’t remove the cost of compositing and effects. I’ve also tried making the vu meter components children of the top-level component and made them setOpaque, to no avail. This is my first attempt at a juce application. Any hints as to how I can improve performance? Juce 1.51, OSX 10.5

I just recently had to do a similar thing with multiple meters and here’s a couple of things I did to increase performance.

What type of meter are you drawing? Obviously the simpler the design the quicker the repaints will be. Any sort of alpha blending to emulate roundness will drain more CPU than a simple opaque design. I went for a segmented meter, then you can keep a record of the current number of segments and you only need to redraw if this changes.

Secondly you might want to do your processing on a separate thread. I have a manager class that inherits from TimeSliceThread and then I register my meters that inherit from TimeSliceClient with it. Take a look at the AudioThumbnail juce class for a good example of how to use this.