Rotating a linear slider

Anyone know how to rotate a linear slider?

I know how to create a rotary slider but I would like to take a linear slider and physically rotate it so it is off axis. I have tried the drawlinearslider() function in the lookandfeel class but this does not seem to give the functionality I need, and also seems to not even work as a slider anyway.

Thanks

juce::Component::setTransform()?

Beautiful, thanks

Using it like so:
myslider.setTransform(juce::AffineTransform::rotation(0.785));

Which I assume it fine? It’s got the result anyway

By the way, looking at the settransform documentation, I see the following:
setTransform ( const AffineTransform & transform )

As I am fairly new to c++ i came to my solution above by hacking around till it worked, however the documentation confuses me as I would expect the & to be referring to the address of a variable, but don’t have a clue what it means in this context. Could you help me understand what a term like this inside the bracket tells me about how I should use it?

Thanks

One of the more annoying syntactical things about C++, IMO… :slight_smile:

In C you can get an address by using the ampersand on a variable:

int a; 
int *b = &a; // points to the memory address of 'a'
int *c = nullptr; // points to nothing

(*b) = 1; // de-reference the pointer to set a value

That’s still the case in C++, however C++ introduced references… which are similar to pointers but may not be nullptr, NULL, etc:

int a;

// Create a reference back to 'a', does not need to take address of the variable
int &b = a;

int *c = nullptr; // points to nothing
int &d = nullptr; // will not compile, references must always be valid 

// References do not need de-referencing, you can treat a and b as the same underlying variable
b = 5;

In the specific example of setTransform(), the function is requiring that you pass in an AffineTransform object by const-reference.