Saving songs in JSON

I am a newbie an building an app where I need to save songs (title,track time and storage path) in a JSON file. The problem is that I can’t figure out how to read and write in JSON. I saw this post:

But when I want to read the file like so:
File myFile= File::getCurrentWorkingDirectory().getChildFile(“file.json”);
auto saved = JSON::parse(myFile);
DBG("result: "+saved.toString());

It’s all blank.

Same when I want to write into the file:

FileOutputStream output(myFile);
auto stringified = JSON::toString(“save this text”);
JSON::writeToStream(outputStream, stringified);

This doesn’t work for me either, nothing gets written, nothing gets read :frowning:

File::getCurrentWorkingDirectory() might not return the directory that you expect, the working directory can differ depending on how the application was started, so it’s usually not recommended for any portable solution. Did you make sure that you are not accidentally dealing with the wrong or a non existing file?

1 Like

As mentioned, if you’re not seeing any output at all, then you should double-check to make sure myFile actually exists:

jassert (myFile.existsAsFile());

That said, there are a few errors in your example code regarding how juce::var works with JSON objects.

File myFile= File::getCurrentWorkingDirectory().getChildFile(“file.json”);
DBG("result: "+ saved.toString()); // <-- error here

Calling saved.toString() isn’t what you want here, you should use JSON::toString() instead:

DBG("result: " + JSON::toString (saved));

And when writing the data:

FileOutputStream output(myFile);
auto stringified = JSON::toString(“save this text”); // <-- error here
JSON::writeToStream(outputStream, stringified);

You call JSON::toString() with a string literal that does not contain JSON data. Instead you should build the JSON structure using DynamicObject, then create a juce::var from that object which you can then write to the file:

auto obj = std::make_unique<DynamicObject>();