Seeing forest from the ValueTrees

I am new to Juce. Looking for big picture viewpoints about how and when to use ValueTrees and States, without getting too lost in the weeds and details.

I can immediately see the benefit of linking GUI controls to ValueTree States in order to keep a ValueTree and GUI item in sync. I can immediately see the benefit of easy serialization of ValueTrees. Still trying to form in mind the best practices for constructing a program/plugin architecture that is using value trees in the best way without overcomplicating certain things. Hoping for some wisdom from some of you that have been using them a while. Again, big picture as much as possible here…

Let’s say I have a design that will involve some semi complex sub-components which will be abstracted as classes for easy reuse. Inside them could be many controls. And then a higher level GUI…and then there could be different GUI screens, etc…

So first question do people tend to use one ValueTree per component? Or per window? Or one giant Valuetree per plugin?

If you end up with a collection of different value trees representing all the data, how do you go about serializing them all? Do you combine them into one value tree and then serialize that the easy way? Or what is a good strategy that has worked well for saving state of many different value trees, some of which could be nested within nested UI relationships, etc…??

I noted in David Rowland’s 2017 ADC talk that he mentioned its common for him to have some non-valuetree variables that are using for the audio thread in process block, but then he populates those in an atomic state outside of the process block I guess, and basically only interacts with the various valueTrees outside of the audio thread. Is that a common thing?