Seg Fault When Adding Gui Component as ScopedPointer to MainConent

First of all I'm VERY new to JUCE!

As the title says, I created my first GUI component, I tried to add it to MainContentComponent like this:

[1] In header file

private:

ScopedPointer<MetronomeGUI> metronomeGUI;

[2] in source file.

MainContentComponent::MainContentComponent () 

{

setSize (400, 200);

addAndMakeVisible (metronomeGUI = new MetronomeGUI ());

}

And it gives me segmentation fault when I run the program...

Now if I use the MetronomeGUI component as the MainComponent, meaning directly into the window class it works...

If I remove the ScopedPointer from MetronomeGUI it works... 

If I made any mistakes in writing the code, don't mind them because the program compiles just fine.

Why does this happen?

I imagine the probem here is with your MetronomeGUI class. Step through your code with the debugger. That's what they are there for. And if you've never used one before, please take the time to learn. In the long run it will save your hours and hours of head scratching! 

I am not sure if this changed in recent compiler languages, but when I learned C++ the return value of an assignment was "true". So in your case you add a "true" as a child, which will not work...

If you do this in two lines I *think* it should work:

metronomeGUI = new MetronomeGUI ();
addAndMakeVisible (metronomeGUI);

But there might be other problems, which you may find in your debugger, as Rory said...

HTH, daniel

Don't use the ScopedPointer, just do it like this:

class MainContentComponent : public Component
{
public:
    MainContentComponent()
    {
        setSize (400, 200);
        addAndMakeVisible (metronomeGUI)
    }
private:
    MetronomeGUI metronomeGUI;
}

Besides, MetronomeGUI sounds like an odd class name to me, why don't you call it simply MetronomeComponent if that's what it is?

when I learned C++ the return value of an assignment was "true"