Send message to a component

Hello, I'm new to JUCE.. I'm writing an audio plugin, i have an introjucer component into my main component which handles my external MIDI message. The two components have no relationship between each other.

I have to send the value of my MIDI message from my "MIDI component" to my main component.

Can someone please write me an example ?

THANK YOU 

I think the ChangeBroadcaster and ChangeListener might be something you should look at. You could make the main Component a ChangeListener and call ChangeBroadcaster::sendChangeMessage() from the MIDI Component when a MIDI message happens. Maybe someone has a better solution, but I think this would be a good way to do it.

There's actually quite a few ways of communicating between objects. You should search the forum. There was a really good explanation of the choices JUCE gives you in a recent post.  

Here :-

http://zee.credland.net/jwiki2j/index.php/Sending_Messages

I expanded the list with some examples...it's incomplete still but it's probably got some useful starting points.

1 Like

I'm reading the changeBroadcaster but I don't understand so much :( 

actually my project is structured as follows:

PluginEditor: public AudioProcessorEditor: here I have my interface

PluginProcessor: public AudioProcessor: it contains the processBlock()

midiContentComponent: public Component (which is a component included into the plugineditor) I have a function that insert in a texteditor information about each message received. Every time I receive a message I would like to send directly my MidiMessage into the PluginProcessor or PluginEditor! So i can change the frequency of my oscillator..

I hope I was clear :( maybe it's simpler than it looks..

Can I make my PluginProcessor a ChangeListener, even if it's not a component ?

Anyone knows how to solve this problem ? :(

Just call a function..?