Send Midi CC directly or via ProcessBlock?

Hi,

I am a newbie @Juce so quick question:

Why is it best practice to send MIDI CC out via the processblock then just sending it direct?

My plugin will have 25-40 parameters that will be automatable.

This is what I use now:

midiOutput = MidiOutput::openDevice(0);
midiOutput->sendMessageNow(MidiMessage::controllerEvent(channel, cc, value));

but I have seen examples where you need to check if values have been changed in the processBlock but that seems to me much more cumbersome!

Any help much appreciated!

If you are doing a plugin that is supposed to output MIDI internally within a host into the following plugins in the processing chain, MidiOutput is not going to work. (It’s meant for outputting into MIDI hardware.)

2 Likes

thanks!

So what is the best way for me to line up a midi CC message and put that into the buffer for sending?

Do I need to check the parameter change in the processBlock or can I put it in the buffer somehow from outside the block (if that makes sense)

{
    buffer.clear();
    midiMessages.clear();
    MidiBuffer generatedMidi;
    int time;
    MidiMessage m;
    int8 ccTempVal;
    int8 myVal = (int8)CC00Val;

if (myVal != ccTempVal)
    {
        m = MidiMessage::controllerEvent(2, 1, myVal);
        generatedMidi.addEvent(m, midiMessages.getLastEventTime());
    }
    else generatedMidi.clear();

ccTempVal = myVal;
    midiMessages.swapWith (generatedMidi);

}

This is what I saw in another post and they recommended this:

So I can keep the code but move the ccTempVal out.
Is it maybe wise then, since I need to check 30-40 variables that I make an array and then put the checking loop and the sending in the processBlock?

I have adapted the code and moved the variables out, but the MidiBuffer does not get triggered…

{

buffer.clear();
    //midiMessages.clear();
    MidiBuffer processedMidi;
    int time;
    MidiMessage m;