Sending Midi notes from audio plugin

Quick info about myself:
I have some programming knowledge in java and C however I have only programmed simple robots, I am still a noob and the only knowledge I got is about basic loops. I heard about JUCE last night.

What I am trying to do:
Create a VST plugin that can run on mac and windows, as long as it works with Ableton live 10 that is more than enough. The plugin shall receive the audio stream and when the audio clip it shall send a midi note that can be received by a midi track. The plugin must have a latency less than 5ms.

What I have done so far:
I have installed JUCE, I have followed some kind of youtube tutorial and have created a gain plugin that works. Right now it is doing this

“channelData[sample] = buffer.getSample(channel, sample) * amountOfGain;”

to edit the sound level. I think I can put that in an if statement so

if (channelData[sample] = buffer.getSample(channel, sample) > “clipping”){

//Trigger midi note here

}

(I do not know the value for clipping, 256?)

I have searched the internet all over and I have looked a lot at the arpeggiator example plugin but I got stuck, I tried to use some parts of the code in my program but get “Use of undeclared identifier” for both midi and notes. I do not know where and how to declare those variables. I am stuck but I think this shouldn’t be too big of a task? I heard something about that it is not possible to send midi from an audio plugin without doing custom drivers and stuff? I got no idea how this works, all help is greatly appreciated!

All audio processing is done in floats (in JUCE always, in most other DSP code as well). So clipping is above 1.0 and below -1.0.

That really depends, so we would need to know, which identifier you are talking about.
Often you find what you need in the arguments, in this case in processBlock() you found the audio data already. You have the midi buffer as the second argument, where you feed the midi note into.