Setting parameters using value tree state

I have attached a slider to a value tree state, just like in the AudioProcessorValueTreeState class tutorial. This works perfectly.
Now, when I save the parameters, I would like to save all but one parameter. The parameter, that is not saved, should be set to its default value, when the plugin is restored.
How should I implement this? I have seen no method to directly change parameter using Value Trees, so that I could set it to default after restoring the value tree.

I would also like to know, if there is any way to influence a parameter attached to a slider from inside the plugin, for example via timer callbacks. Of course the parameter should still be automatable. So for example, if I have a slider, that under certain circumstances should not go over half of its range.
Is there any way to do this sensibly? Or should I reconsider my design decisions?

Hopefully I did not confuse the terms too much, I am still very new to the value tree state class etc.

why not just ā€˜parameter.setValue(defaultValue)ā€™ after your value tree is restored?

As far as I understand it, this would use the AudioParameter Class, which would not work with the Value Tree State class. I definitely cannot use this method on my parameter, since it is not initialised as Audio Parameter, but as a part of the value tree using AudioProcessorValueTreeState::createAndAddParameter().
Or am I misunderstanding something here?
Thanks for your fast answer, though.

https://juce.com/doc/classAudioProcessorValueTreeState#ad7de02052d045956f56018e009dc50c6
contains a ValueTree member, soā€¦

with your AudioProcessorValueTreeState instance:

APVTS.state.setProperty(...)

thatā€™s how you set individual properties of your tree after itā€™s restoredā€¦

https://juce.com/doc/classValueTree#ad236114dc2a8c41c799f1fc51d1614bd

unless iā€™m not understandingā€¦?