Slow building in Visual Studio 2008

Hello,

I am completely new to the JUCE framework and have just been playing about with the various example applications today. The problem is that it seems to take an excessive amount of time to build even the simple HelloWorld project. It consistently takes about 90seconds or so, which although not huuge, is enormously frustrating and kills productivity!

From a quick look at the currently running processes, it seems that most of the time is spent running link.exe

Any hints about what might be causing such a slowdown?

I am building ‘HelloWorld’ release version with VS2008 on windows XP sp3

I don’t have this trouble with non-JUCE projects in VS but admittedly I do most of my C++ programming in Codeblocks/gcc so I am pretty naive about the microsoft tools.

Thanks for any help!

Will

for release builds it’s true, if you switch to Debug it’s much faster, it depends on optimization options i think.

Sorry I didnt make it very clear, I meant to say that it is equally slow for both debug and release builds!

Is it just that the Juce libraries are just so massive that it always takes ages to build? Seems strange that the build process doesnt ‘cache’ the result of previous compilations - If I just change the string to be displayed in HelloWorld/main.cpp it will take just as long to build as if I had done a complete re-build

cheers for the help

That sounds a bit odd - it only takes a couple of seconds for me, even though I’m running window in a VM!

Do you have a ridiculously small amount of memory, perhaps?

have about a gig spare of RAM - the linker process only uses about 80megs max, it just takes sooo long!

Yeah I dont have the fastest PC but I can normally compile and run reasonably complex programs in a few seconds,

Could it be to do with the linkage method of JUCE?