[SOLVED] Questions about Parameters and Midi Learn

Hey together, I am new to JUCE and audio programming and I need some clarification on the topic of parameters and Midi Learning.

What I understand so far and please correct me if I am wrong is the following: VST3 only send Midi Note information to the processBlock function. To also have Midi Controller messages, JUCE creates parameters for each controller type and maps that back one to one to the controllers. In this way we get controller messages in the processBlock. We can disable this mapping with JUCE_VST3_EMULATE_MIDI_CC_WITH_PARAMETERS=0. So now my questions:

1. If I enable this mapping, do I have to do the Midi Learning in the plugin by myself? Because like I understand VST3 wants to enforce that the Midi Learning only happens in the host which makes sense to me that the plugin should not have to deal with this. Because if I only get the raw controller messages I need a way to associate it to a function.
  2. If I disable this mapping, I have to work with parameters instead of controller messages, right? For example use AudioProcessorValueTreeState. But I’ve read that I don’t get sample accurate parameter changes in JUCE but only in every processBlock call and have to do some interpolation by myself to smooth it.
  3. If I disable this mapping, does my plugin works the same with all plugin formats and hosts? I mean does every host and other plugin format support parameters?
  4. If I need sample accurate parameters and don’t want to do the Midi Learning in the plugin, I need to work directly with the VST3 SDK and cannot do it with JUCE?

I hope my questions are clear so far. Thank you in advance!

We did a few instrument plugins and I think I can answer the questions. I don’t like some decisions made in the VST3 plugin format. I believe plugins should receive all MIDI events like all other plugin formats. Because of this, we have enabled this for our VST plugins.