Survey on plugin / software licensing solutions

Hi all

I’m conducting a short survey of plugin and audio software devs about licensing solutions. I’d be very grateful if you can spend a few mins to answer some questions. Thank you!

2 Likes

Thanks for responses so far! Bumping for the weekend :slight_smile:

Btw, as a consumer, I will never accept any kind of DRM, what I purchase should be mine. As a developer, I will never impose any kind of DRM, my paying users deserves love, not fear and chains.

5 Likes

As a developer, I don’t know if I want you as a consumer.

But seriously, if all users were honest and not forgetful when it comes to paying, I would love not to use DRM.

2 Likes

Commercial paid for software doesn’t work like that. You own a license to use the software, not the software itself. You have no claim to ownership of the binary.

Whilst bad DRM can be a PITA, so can losing thousands due to reckless piracy. Having said that, almost everything with DRM gets cracked anyway but then it means people are going out of their way to look for torrents etc. And then there’s the notion that if people are resorting to using cracked versions then they probably wouldn’t be paying anyway (i.e. they’re broke).

And it gets cracked fast. With a simple google search you can find any well-know software. I don’t know if they work, but they seem.

When I was a child and I barely could purchase a sausage sandwich, the question I had in my mind was “Do the people really pay for this?”. If it wasn’t avaliable, it wasn’t. I never had any doubt about the “morality” of my acts, for me, in that moment, it was a good thing. I just wait until it’s avaliable. Purchasing something was out of question.