Synthesiser method to play a note

Hey,

I’m trying to make an app that can play a note on the JUCE synthesiser from an OSC message. My problem is that I can’t find the method in the synthesiser example that actually plays the note on the keyboard and I don’t know what infos to send via OSC to choose a specific note.

Does anyone have any experience with the juce synthesiser’s methods?

Can’t you fill the processBlock()'s MidiBuffer with notes, based on whatever is coming in via OSC?

I can send whatever I want via OSC but since I’m new to JUCE I don’t really know how to fill the MidiBuffer. From what I see in the code, the MidiBuffer is specified once:

void getNextAudioBlock (const juce::AudioSourceChannelInfo& bufferToFill) override
{
bufferToFill.clearActiveBufferRegion();

juce::MidiBuffer incomingMidi;
    keyboardState.processNextMidiBuffer (incomingMidi, bufferToFill.startSample,
                                         bufferToFill.numSamples, true);    

synth.renderNextBlock (*bufferToFill.buffer, incomingMidi,
                           bufferToFill.startSample, bufferToFill.numSamples);
}

I’m not sure what code you are referring to, but the Synthesiser has a function called renderNextBlock() which is usually called from the AudioProcessor::processBlock() function. renderNextBlock is passed a MidiBuffer, which is then picked up down the line. I would suggest filling this MidiBuffer. Check out the AudioPluginDemo. FWIW, I’m not sure this is the best approach, but it’s probably where I would start.

Ok, thank you so much for your help. I’ll try that.

If you want to process stuff coming in via OSC, I’d suggest you take a look at this one JUCE/juce_AudioProcessorPlayer.cpp at master · juce-framework/JUCE · GitHub