Thinking about offline product registration / authentication

Hi friends!

My first project is inching ever closer to completion, and I’ve started to brainstorm about the immense topic of product authentication/registration/unlocking. For my use case, I’m not concerned about making my software impossible to crack/pirate, I just want to make it “not easy”.

Now, I would really like to find a solution for this that requires no internet connection on the user’s machine at authentication-time, for several reasons:

• I’m a beginning developer, and I can’t afford to spend money on a server at this time
  • I believe that using an internet connection to authenticate is a very large potential source of bugs, and frustration & confusion for paying customers, which is the last thing I want!
  • The moral and ethical implications of employing a server to run 24-7… but that’s really outside the scope of this forum post

So, with all of that in mind, I’ve been brainstorming on this question: is it possible to create a reasonably secure authentication system that does not require an internet connection?

I’m familiar with the obvious approach of hard-coding a list of acceptable keys into the binary, and giving each paying customer a key, and the authentication check is to see if the key the user enters is in the list. Personally I think this approach offers barely any security, and isn’t really worth doing at all – might as well just not use authentication.

The other approach I’ve been pondering would be something inspired by RSA-style public/private key cryptography…