Thread safe way to pass an object from the plugin editor to the processor

As a C++ self-taught, I sometimes stumble upon some lack of basic knowledge. Let me quickly explain the situation:

I’m building a Plugin that generates sound output from file contents, loaded at runtime. I created a struct, containing a ScopedPointer to an audio buffer, that gets created when a new file is loaded and some other pod values, giving some information on how the buffer content should be played back.

The PluginProcessor has an OwnedArray of these structs. The PluginEditor has all the functionality to create such a struct from a file passed to the gui on the heap. Now I’m looking for a thread-safe way to add the new struct to the processor’s OwnedArray. Furthermore, it should not interrupt the audio thread, which reads from the array, so all write-operation to the OwnedArray as well as its possible extension have to be done in between the calls to processBlock.

What’s the best approach to get this working?

Have the UI thread own the pointers. Pass them to the audio thread using a FIFO, when the audio thread no-longer needs the pointer pass it back to the message thread for deletion.

Which needs to be thread safe or be handled in a thread safe manner itself…

juce::AbstractFIfo is okay for this

There are other solutions … have two arrays and swapping pointers over works as well.

Thank you for your response. I think, I wasn’t completely clear about that - the structs should be permanently owned by the processor and will be used multiple times after creation, maybe even when the editor is closed. So currently I allocate them in the editor, fill them with the desired data and then simply add the pointer to the OwnedArray in the processor, so that it will own them from now on.