To poll or thread or . . . .?

Hi all!
I’m new here, so hello. I’m totally new to programming real-time stuff. I have a dynamic library that needs to be called many times per second to process audio frames. I’m (trying) to use JUCE as a GUI to control the model parameters. So far I have managed to get JUCE to load and call my lib with no problems. My library works fine if it is called in a loop like so:

while(1){
mdl_step(pointers to parameters and stuff);
}

. . . but then everything locks up and I can’t change any parameters or do anything else. I’d like to be able to change parameters while my loops is running. If anyone could point me in the direction of some reading material or provide any clues I’d be massively grateful.

Thanks!

C++ threads vs JUCE threads - threading tutorials?

Use the Thread-Class for your processing, be sure to be thread-safe. If your sharing parameters between the GUI and the processing, use a Critical Section, and lock as short as possible.

Great. Thanks for the reply. I have never multi-threaded anything before so I can see this being quite a challenge. I just have a few sliders and I’d like to pass the values from the sliders into my lib that is running in an infinite loop. Something like

while(1){
param = slider->getValue();
mdl_step(&param);
}

But I guess if I set param in one thread, the other thread just has to loop calling the step function. I’m guessing this kind of design must be fairly common? If anyone could post a really simple source code or even pseudo code example of that would be great. Could I skip threads all together and use a loop to just update parameters and check for an exit signal? Sorry to be an (enthusiastic) moron.

:slight_smile:

ok this is pseudo code:

class myThread : public Thread
{
	void run()
    {
       while (! threadShouldExit())
        {
			{
				Scopedlock (myCriticalSection);
				local_copy_param = slider_param
			};	

mdl_step(&local_copy_param);
        }
    }
}

On the GUI-Thread:

{