Unit Delay (Z¯¹)

Is there something in JUCE for unit delays, commonly denoted as Z¯¹? I want to try and create an audio filter, but I'm not sure how to make a simple unit delay. I'm new to JUCE, sorry.

Also, what would you use to get the audio stream through the filter? Like I say I'm new to JUCE. I'm use to working in Reaktor and it was much easier. I'm trying to figure out how to work with audio in JUCE.

There are some ready to use filters available in JUCE. Have a look into the documentation; otherwise you will need to program the DSP part by yourself. A good starting point is a DSP book. You will find an overview of the common DSP topics here:

http://www.dspguru.com/book/export/html/98

The thing is, I actually have a good bit of experience with DSP, especially filters. I was making them in Reaktor (Core) though and it's quite different than doing it in C++ and JUCE. I think if I can find a very minimal example of a simple, self-contained filter, I'll be able to figure it out. At this very moment I'm just trying to figure out how unit delays work in C++. It's extremely simple in Reaktor and I imagine it is in C++ and JUCE too, but I'm just not sure how it's done. 

A literal mono unit delay (that is, a delay of 1 sample without a way to have any other delay lenght) could be something like :

class unit_delay
{
public:
    unit_delay() : m_previous(0.0f) {}
    float process(float input)
    {
        float temp = m_previous;
        m_previous = input;
        return temp;
    }
private:
    float m_previous;
};

You need an instance of this class in a scope where it will retain its state as long as your audio processing is going on. You need a separate instance for every audio channel you process. (That is, if you have a stereo signal, you need 2 independent object instances etc...)