Variable filter with steep cutoff

I want a high order Papoulis filter whose frequency can be moved in real time. Can I somehow generate Papoulis IIR coefficients and use them inside a bunch of juce::IIRFilters?

Background: I’m trying to design an effect, and as part of the algorithm I believe I need to chop off all the information above a certain frequency. This frequency needs to be able to move up and down with automation during the song. I could just use the built-in IIRCoefficients::makeLowPass(sampleRate, frequency) (that’s just a Butterworth filter, right?), but I love the sound of the 20th order Papoulis filter in the free “ToolChain” VST effect by RS-MET. It seems a little steeper and has a sharper transition at the filter frequency. I’m trying to recreate that in JUCE. I’m no DSP expert, but I’ve read that the best way to get variable higher-order filters is to stack second-order filters. Is that all a Papoulis filter is, a basic second-order IIR filter? I just need to get my hands on the algorithm to calculate those coefficients, right?

just put a few iirfilters in series to get a higher order, you’ll discover quickly enough how to set it. you can vary those in realtime: the change of coefficients will not create a click.

Well, they are swapped without interrupting the flow. But a big change of the coefficients can cause clicks. If the parameters changes in bigger jumps, you might need to interpolate between the coefficients…

Also note, there is the old class IIRFilter and IIRCoefficients, and there is also the new dsp module with dsp::IIR::Filter and dsp::IIR::Coefficients, and there is the dsp::FilterDesign for higher order filters

The documentation for dsp::FilterDesign seems to indicate that it isn’t meant to be used in scenarios where fast modulation is desired.

Per https://docs.juce.com/master/classdsp_1_1IIR_1_1Filter.html#details