VLD reports leaks when Juce doesn't. False positives?

Hi!

I set up visual leak detector with my code, and suddenly got loads of leaks, when Juce’s leak detector reported none.

Since all leaks from VLD seem to be from the same static function (), and I found some information on the internet on it reporting false positives sometimes, I though’t I’d check here to make sure that that’s the case.

I made a test program, with the code below, in the MainComponent constructor of my program, which is reported as leaking by VLD:

Value test_Value;
test_Value = 0.0;
String test_label;
test_label = test_Value.toString();

Where that last .toString() call is reported as responsible for 5 leaks.

Should I just ignore this as a false positive, or is there something wrong in my code above? I’m relatively new to C++, but I don’t see why that code should be leaking really :slight_smile:

Oh, and I’m using the latest Juce modules, as of yesterday.

Thank you!

Your code creates a string and passes it to something called test_label, but you haven’t explained what that variable is. Is it a static string? If so then it’s probably still hanging around when VLD runs, and looks like a leak.

Hi, thanks for the quick reply!

Both variables (test_Value and test_label) are declared just above the line reported as leaking. I didn’t tag the whole thing as code, here it is again for clarity:

Value	test_Value;
test_Value = 0.0;
String test_label;
test_label = test_Value.toString();

And the line detected as leaking is only the last one.

So I imagine that as soon as the constructor in which those lines of code live ends, they go out of scope and are deleted, since they are allocated to the stack. Unless I’ve gotten something very wrong of course!

…And here’s the leak report from VLD, for the sake of completion: