What a basic explanation of how I'd start creating a plugin that played a sample every ⅛ th note, triggered by a midi note?

I am thinking of creating a plugin that outputs a pre-loaded sample every ⅛ th (eighth) note.
Like a “pulse” sample, playing every eighth note for 3 bars.

The sample would be triggered by a midi note, and then be output every eighth note for three bars thereafter. Like this, but for three bars (in the image below its 1/4 notes though!):

Whas the approach (in basic terms) to create this plugin?

E.g.

If midi note detected:
Wait until playhead is on next eighth note boundary and then start sequence by outputting 1st sample
Wait until playhead is on next boundary to output the next sample
Do for 3 bars
Repeat

Is looking at the playhead position all the time the best way to output on 1/8th note boundaries? I think some DAWs won’t even tell Juce where the playhead is.
And in the Juce settings, isMidiPlugin [/] or not?

Hi Ian,

I am no expert and am only just learning myself, but can hopefully point you in the right direction regarding a few things:

Detecting a MIDI note - in the ProcessBlock function inside the basic Juce plugin template there is a MidiBuffer which stores any Midi messages passed in from the DAW during that processBlock. To detect the Midi note you would iterate through the Midimessages buffer and use a conditional statement if there is an onNote message in the buffer.

outputting in 8th notes - The playhead position is not a reliable source for accurately coutning samples or time passed. The most relaiable timer you have is the ProcessBlock function. Theoretically, this should be called every number of samples the bufferSize is set to in the DAW.

so ideally, you would create a running timer that is added to every processBlock function call until it is equal an 8th note in samples (i.e. sample rate = 44100, bpm = 120 then an 8th note can be calculated as ((60.0 / 120.) * 44100) / 8.