What is going on with including headers in the Juce Demo?

I’ve noticed that every file in the juce demo is not including any header files of code it’s using. I’m a relative newbie to JUCE, how is this possible? What is going on and how do I do this?

An example:

How is the class in MainWindow.h (in the JUCE demo) able to inherit “public DocumentWindow” and “public AsyncUpdater” without including any header files? I would expect it to not find those classes without first including “DocumentWindow.h” and “AsyncUpdater.h”, or some equivalent header file that includes both of them.

WTF is going on here? I fully acknowledge I’m a c++ newbie.

You may have noticed that during compilation the compiler only compiles .cpp files (not .h files).

When the compiler sees an #include statement, it literally inserts the .h file contents in that place, doing so recursively until all files are included (meaning it will also include every .h file included by the .h file and so on).

Eventually, the compiler ends up with a large .cpp file containing the original code plus all the included files on top of it.
This compilation step is called “preprocessing” and is also the time when all the macros are evaluated. Generally, instructions starting with ‘#’ are processed during the preprocessor step and are called “preprocessor directives”.

For example, to prevent including the same file multiple times, “one time include guards” are used in the form of

#ifndef SOMETHING_DOT_H
#define SOMETHING_DOT_H
	//File contents
#endif

The #ifndef is a preprocessor directive (“if not defined”) and is evaluated during the preprocessor step.

So anyway, back to your question.

MainWindow.cpp has one include statement:

#include "JuceDemoHeader.h"

If you look inside it, you’ll notice that it expands into

#include "../JuceLibraryCode/JuceHeader.h"
#include "MainWindow.h"
#include "DemoUtilities.h"