Whats a good way to get a list of the "Plugin's presets" when the plugin first loads?

Do you get presets from disc when the Editor initializes (into a data structure vector), or do you do that in PluginProcessor.cpp on initialization? And keep the list of presets in a member variable vector in PluginProcessor?

Do you use a different thread to get presets to ensure loading time is not slowed?

(I have a cycle through presets back and forward on my GUI)

If I understand correctly, I found the second more convenient.

Maybe related/relevant: I had my Processor create a ComboBox and assign values, but the Editor does the layout. The value tree (in the Processor) holds/saves/restores just the combo selection index. The Processor needs to translate this even if no Editor has existed yet.

I had found this tricky, but I’m fairly new in Juce.

1 Like

Your plugin processor needs to be able to exist independently of your plugin editor window. The host might then control it via the parameters, for example. So, thinking of the plugin processor as the plugin itself and the editor as just a window, I would definitely find myself storing most things in the processor. The editor can always access the processor but the editor is not guaranteed to exist when the processor looks for it.

As for threads, I would leave that to the experts to answer conclusively but my instinct would be to do it on the message thread unless the files are really large.

1 Like

So you’d lean towards storing a vector of presets (preset name string, preset path) in PluginProcessor and manipulating that from PluginEditor.
The preset files are only small XML files, so in theory should be quick… but I know disc access is probably the slowest task you can perform.

I am already checking for the existence of my preset folder etc. in PluginProcessor anyway, so that seems good.