Where to put app resource files in Projucer for Android

Android super noob here! I’m looking for a way to include some midi, json and soundfont files in an Android app. While I found how to make it work for the iOS version, I cannot find where to put the folders that include the files for the Android version.

I guess that I’ll have to declare the path of the folders somewhere in Projucer; I’ve tried out all fields that seem relevant* in “Exporters/Android” (as well as in Debug and Release), but made no progress.

Thanks!

• I’ve tried putting the absolute resources path in:
  • Exporters/Android -> Resources folders
    Here it complains about the files not being “.xml” so I guess this field is irrelevant.

• Exporters/Android/Release & Debug -> Extra Android Raw Resources
    No error here but files are still not discoverable.

If the files only need to be accessed by the JUCE app, best way is to add them as Binary Data via Projucer.

Thank you so much for the quick response!

It appears that I have more fundamental questions regarding Projucer though…

I have already used the “+” icon in “File Explorer” to add the folders containing the files and when browsing those folders in Projucer all file have the “Binary Resource” ticked (if that means anything).

Would this be enough to constitute those files binary data or there is another process that I’m missing?

Thank you again!

Yes that’s pretty much it.

So your next port of call would be to check your BinaryData.h/cpp to make sure the data is present (it’s created when saving a project).
Then look up how to access the data, e.g. BinaryData::MyXmlFile_xml - plenty of examples around depending on how you are going to read/use the file data.

Thanks again for the response @adamski! Indeed I was ignoring the binary data process that goes on behind the scenes when importing data to Projucer.