Why are Graphics coded in Header-File?

I am just starting out with the JUCE Framework but have done some C/C++ Projects for University.
We got taught that Headerfiles should only be used for decleration of functions and defining Macros.
But all of the Graphic paint functions etc. are modified in the Header-files.
So I was wondering why this seems to be the best practice instead of modifing graphics in let’s say a MainComponent.cpp file

Separating the declaration in headers and the implementation is mostly a style choice, that I support strongly. Once you get to the point you can treat some classes as black box, it is great to get an overview of the functionality, without browsing all the implementation details (granted, there is also doxygen for that purpose).

For code to be optimised, it makes sense to have it in the header implemented, because that way the compiler can inline it. Otherwise this could only be done at the linker stage, which is not how the majority of compilers/optimisers work (take it with a pinch of salt, I am not a compiler expert).

My personal rule of thumb about methods, that are called in DSP or fast graphics (especially methods that are called per sample):

• never call virtual methods
  • implement in header
    (inline has different meanings, I think you can add forcedinline instead, but the optimiser will take care of that anyway)
  • make it noexcept
    (will never throw an exception, but then you must code that it really can’t fail)

I think clever people here can add to that list…

1 Like

also not an expert here, but I usually I put simple implementations, like simple set and get methods, in the header while putting the more complicated stuff in the cpp.
I prefer my code more readable instead of over optimizing everything. later on, if you run into performance issues, you can still put certain functions in the header.

1 Like