Why are ListBox so difficult?

So I am fairly new to c++ and juce. I am trying to change one of the rotary sliders on the JuceDemoPlugin to a ListBox I have been at this scrawling the internet for examples for about 4 days now and still I have got no where and it's killing me.

I am able to draw the ListBox but how on earth do you fill it with any information - text - numbers - anything?? There seems to be no methods in the Juce Api for doing so. Why not?? Or am I missing somthing. 

So I create a ListBox in the PluginEditor.h

ListBox tempramentListbox;

I then instansiate it in the PluginEditor.cpp  JuceDemoPluginAudioProcessorEditor::JuceDemoPluginAudioProcessorEditor (JuceDemoPluginAudioProcessor* ownerFilter) function

tempramentListbox ("temprament"),

Then I make it visible

addAndMakeVisible (&tempramentListbox);

I have tried to understand this example:

http://www.juce.com/forum/topic/listbox-example

However it assumes a higher level of knowledge then I have unfortunatly. 

Where do the override functions go? Do you add them to the juce_ListBox.cpp or juce_ListBox.h files in the widgets folder of the library. Do I have to call these override functions from the PluginEditor.cpp file

I would share more code but I have none other then what is given in the above and in the forum example.

Any help would be greatly recieved. Please please please I am at my wits end. 

Thanks 

Richard

You can't just add content to a ListBox as it has no way of knowing how to display the data and in what form it will be. You need to create a subclass of ListBoxModel which overrides the getNumRows and paintListBoxItem methods.

Once you have created your LstBoxModel subclass you can pass it to a ListBox to use.