ADSR behaving oddly on polyphonic notes

I’m pretty new to JUCE but I am having trouble getting a simple ADSR thing to work so any help much appreciated.

I’m using JUCE v5.4.7 on a Mac in case that makes any difference.

I’m using pretty much the standard MPESynthesiser demo code - and have added a JUCE ADSR to the Voice class. This is set up with Attack and Decay of 1s, Sustain of 0.8 and Decay of 5s.

When I play one note the ADSR works as I’d expect. But if I play a second note while the first note is still decaying the volume of the first note gets massively reduced. I’m also getting a click when the second note is played - presumably due to this fast change in volume of the first note.

Here is what I hope is all the relevant code - I’ve commented out the LFO bit from the demo for now in the renderNextBlock:

void Voice::noteStarted()
{
    auto velocity = getCurrentlyPlayingNote().noteOnVelocity.asUnsignedFloat();
    auto freqHz = (float) getCurrentlyPlayingNote().getFrequencyInHertz();

DBG("Start "+String(getCurrentlyPlayingNote().getFrequencyInHertz()));

processorChain.get<osc1Index>().setFrequency (freqHz, true);
    processorChain.get<osc1Index>().setLevel (velocity);

processorChain.get<osc2Index>().setFrequency (freqHz * 1.01f, true);
    processorChain.get<osc2Index>().setLevel (velocity);

amplitudeAdsr.noteOn();
}

void Voice::noteStopped (bool allowTailOff)
{
    if(allowTailOff)
    {
        amplitudeAdsr.noteOff();
    }
    else
    {
        clearCurrentNote();
    }
}

void Voice::renderNextBlock (AudioBuffer<float>& outputBuffer, int startSample, int numSamples)
    {
        auto output = tempBlock.getSubBlock (0, (size_t) numSamples);
        output.clear();

if(isActive() && amplitudeAdsr.isActive() == false)
        {
            DBG("ADSR end");
            clearCurrentNote();
        }

for (size_t pos = 0; pos < (size_t) numSamples;)
        {
            auto max = jmin ((size_t) numSamples - pos, lfoUpdateCounter);