An SIMD Question

Hi Everyone,

I’m fairly new to Juce and I’m trying to get my head around the SIMD capability.

I’m trying to do something similar to this:

SIMDRegister<float> * WorkingBuffer = new SIMDRegister<float>[1024];
SIMDRegister<float> ValueOne = SIMDRegister<float>::fromNative({2.0f,2.0f,2.0f,2.0f});
SIMDRegister<float> ValueTwo= SIMDRegister<float>::fromNative({0.0f,0.0f,0.0f,0.0f});
SIMDRegister<float> TempValue= SIMDRegister<float>::fromNative({0.0f,0.0f,0.0f,0.0f});

for(int i = 0; i <; 1024; i++)
{
      WorkingBuffer[i] = SIMDRegister<float>::fromNative({0.0f,0.0f,0.0f,0.0f});
}

for(int i = 0; i <; 1024; ++i)
{
    ValueTwo = TableLookUp[i]; //table is a table of SIMDRegister&lt;float&gt;;

**//THE FOLLOWING LINE GIVES AN UNEXPECTED RESULT FOR TempValue**

TempValue= WorkingBuffer[i] * ValueOne - WorkingBuffer[i] * ValueTwo;

…….followed by more code

I don’t understand why I’m getting odd values in the above mentioned line for the TempValue variable. The code works perfectly in the scalar version. I suspect I might be initialising the SIMDRegister<float> array named “WorkingBuffer” incorrectly. Can anyone point me in the direction of a solution? Thanks.

cixelsyd

Are you simply missing an index from the second WorkingBuffer in your last line?

Apologies. That was a typo.

Fixed my post. I’m wondering if the issue could be related to alignment.

I thought that might have been too easy!

I would suggest making a much simpler example, reducing the lines of code and the size of the loops to the absolute minimum to reproduce the problem. By the end of this process I suspect you’ll have worked out what’s going on, but if not you’ll have a fully operational test case you can post here. Guess-debugging other people’s code is much much harder than having something you can experiment with.