App Design Question (Juce Newbie)

Hi Everyone,

I am new to Juce and would like suggestions for my Project’s design using Juce.

I am a music educator, have been programming for many years, mainly within the Mac Universe (Hypertalk, Carbon, Cocoa). I am comfortable with C++ and Objective-C and have written code for synthesis, MIDI routing, algorithmic composition, …

I’ve been working on the Juce tutorials to get familiar with the framework and now I decided to start an application project. I chose Juce mainly because of its audio and multiplatform support. My Aplication is a collection of exercises for ear training for use in class (and eventually, if I manage to do a decent job, perhaps distributing for Mac/Windows/Linux).

After trying some of the demos, I thought of using a single window and loading each lesson as predefined component over an area within the main component. Figured that, since each “page” would use a different combination of buttons, sliders, etc, I could swap pages just by adding and removing child components. The only thing is that I would end up with a ton of files with component-derived classes, one for each “page”. Another possibility I considered would be to use one giant switch on the main component directing to a different method with GUI structuring code for each page. It seems that either solution would quickly escalate in complexity, especially since there will certainly be many pages of exercises (perhaps dozens of them).

I would appreciate any comments and/or suggestions for other strategies. I am just trying to start out in the right track and avoid having to redo everything once I get the app going.
Thanks in advance and please forgive me for the length of the message (promise I’ll keep them shorter in the future).

Musically,

Carlos E. Mello
University of Brasília, Brazil

It sounds like you try to do exactly what the DemoRunner does. If you look at the git repository next to the Projucer, did you build and run the DemoRunner?