Workflow - Juce and Design

Hi y’all, and I’m sorry if this is sort of a re-post. the latest post in the subject was from 2011…

I’m a graphic design student getting started with my graduation project - For those who do not know, it’s the last and largest project in our degree where we basically create our own brief and we have to design everything and get scored on the design.

My partner for this project is a programmer and a sound engineer. We are trying to create a “gateway drug” sort of synth for beginners to get into the world of making noise. The synth is divided into two parts: a dashboard for the user’s computer and a MIDI keyboard.

We were thinking about using Juce to create the audio experience, I’m trying to figure out a workflow so that I can take the framework my partner created using juce and build the UI myself so that we have more time for development and design and less time spent on frontend integration. I have experience with HTML CSS (and a bit of background with Python and C#) as well as being proficient in Unity as a tech artist and in Figma as a designer for UX and UI.

So, have you done anything like this and have some insights to share? Is there an easy or smart workflow that we as a team could use? I appreciate any help and tips you can give. :camera:

1 Like

JUCE offers a way of arranging its UI widgets via FlexBox. I don’t normally use it but AFAIK that’s the closest point you can get in JUCE to an arrangement that resembles what happens in CSS.

1 Like

Thanks, I’ll have a look at the two.
I was hoping there was somthing easier (for me) like a visual tool such as figma or unity I could use to create the UI. But I’ll keep looking at all the options

This kind of separation exists. The sound generation happens in the AudioProcessor, and the AudioProcessorEditor is the kind of dashboard, if I understand you correctly.