AU built using 10.6 base sdk - not loaded in 10.5

Hi,
I’m new to mac os programming, so I need your help badly

I’ve built an AU plugin using base sdk 10.6 (mac os x 10.6.2, intel mac, xcode 3.2.1)
deployment target is set to 10.4
Plugin opens ok in AUlab in 10.6.2
But in 10.5 I getting error “50” while trying to load plugin to aulab.

auval -v aufx gives the following -

AU Validation Tool
     Version: 1.2.1b3 
      Copyright 2003-2007, Apple, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Specify -h (-help) for command options

VALIDATING AUDIO UNIT: ‘aufx’ - ‘Tr’ - ‘SlDl’

Manufacturer String: SlDl
AudioUnit name: Tr
Component Info: Tr
Component Version: 1.1.0 (0x10100)
Component’s Bundle Version: 0.0.0

• PASS

TESTING OPEN TIMES:
COLD:
2010-01-30 22:56:05.789 auvaltool[142:80f] Error loading /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/Tr.component/Contents/MacOS/Tr: dlopen(/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/Tr.component/Contents/MacOS/Tr, 262): Symbol not found: _ZNSi10_M_extractIfEERSiRT
Referenced from: /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components/Tr.component/Contents/MacOS/Tr
Expected in: /usr/lib/libstdc++.6.dylib
FATAL ERROR: OpenAComponent: result: -50,0xFFFFFFCE

I’ve tried to build using base sdk 10.5 and plugin loads ok in 10.5 and 10.4, but I need to use base sdk 10.6

Could you please help me.

Looks like the 10.6 SDK is using a function that’s not available in 10.5, though I’ve never heard of “extractIf” - it’s certainly not used directly by my code, maybe it’s something you’re doing?

Thanks, will try to find it out.
I just tried to compile uding GCC 4.0 (instead of GCC 4.2) and all is now working ok… strange…

Ah, I bet that the 4.2 compiler was generating that function call internally.

so, it is better to use gcc4.0 if i want the plugin to run on 10.4 and 10.5 ?

Yes, I think that’s a good idea.

thanks! =)

Hi,