Audioformat no appropriate default constructor available

I’m new to Juce and am trying to read metadata from an mp3 file. I get the error that the juce::AudioFormat has no appropriate default constructor available. How do I fix this?

class PlaylistComponent  : public juce::Component,
                           public TableListBoxModel,
                           public Button::Listener,
                           public AudioSource,
                           public AudioFormat

Why are you trying to inherit from AudioFormat? That doesn’t seem appropriate at all for your class.

I’m not sure. I was following an example I saw. Should it be AudioFormatReader or something else?

Multiple inheritance might save a few characters typing, but best practice is to inherit as few as possible.

The rule is to prefer composition over inheritance

You don’t need inheritance at all to read audio file metadatas. In principle code like the following should work, but at least a random mp3 file I picked up from my drive didn’t produce any metadata keys/values…But looking at the file with Foobar2000, there definitely is metadata. The Juce mp3 metadata handling might be broken/limited in some manner.

juce::AudioFormatManager aman;
    aman.registerBasicFormats();
    juce::File f("D:\\foo.mp3");
    auto reader = aman.createReaderFor(f);
    if (reader)
    {
        auto keys = reader->metadataValues.getAllKeys();
        for (auto& k : keys)
        {
           DBG(k << reader->metadataValues.getValue(k,""));
        }
        delete reader;
    }
1 Like

If the file is in my Z:\WD\Music folder, do I set the file to

juce::File f(“Z:\WD\Music\1.mp3”);

Nothing is printed when I compile so I’m not sure if it can’t detect the file or it can’t detect the metadata.

On Windows you need to use \\ instead of \ for the file paths in source code. But in any case, it does look like Juce doesn’t actually even support the typical metadata stuff in mp3 files.