[Beginner] Lowpass filter not working properly

Hello, I’m a CS student and as part of a research study, my group and I had the task of creating an audio plug-in despite our little experience in C++ and absolutely no experience at all with the JUCE framework.

When making the filters, we quickly focused on the DSP module with the help of tutorials, especially the videos concerning the IIR filters from The Audio Programmer and the equalizer realized by Matkat music on the freeCodeCamp YTB channel.
But each time we encountered a problem where the lowpass filter does its job only in the range [0,~3000] and does nothing after.
We tried to find the source of the problem with our research tutor and we thought that there was maybe a conflict with another code that acts on the sound like the delay but for the moment we have no other track.

That’s why we decided to ask the question on this forum to perhaps have some leads that could help us solve our problem, this is the first time I post on a forum, I hope I formulated my problem correctly and thanks in advance for your answers.

You mean that if you set the cutoff frequency to less than 3000 Hz, the lowpass filter works and filters out the higher frequencies, but if you set the cutoff to higher than 3000 Hz, it no longer filters anything?

That’s not what is supposed to happen and you most likely have a bug in your code somewhere. (A typical mistake is that people use a single filter for both left and right channels, so make sure each channel has its own filter, or that at least the filter is setup to handle two channels.)

1 Like

For the channels in my processBlock I used the AudioBlock since when I did some research I did read some stuff about the channels, maybe I didn’t implement it correcly at all

This is what I did in my processBlock

void RunDubDelayAudioProcessor::processBlock(AudioBuffer<float>& buffer, MidiBuffer& midiMessages)
{
    int totalNumInputChannels = getTotalNumInputChannels();