Best practice for 2D graph scrolling

I've been using JUCE for a while now to draw a range of 2D scrolling graphs, with X marking time and various values plotted on Y.  One example attached.

So far I've done this in a real numnuts way, redrawing the entire graph area on each paint().  Obviously this is fairly CPU intensive!  I do at least use/check clip boundaries and only redraw the text on the axes as and when required.

How can I improve this?  I have very little experience of graphics coding so I'm sure I'm missing concepts as well as not knowing which bits of JUCE are relevant.  What I really need is a few high level pointers - some bullet points on the basic process to follow and a few key JUCE classes to dive in to.

I presume I'll need to cache the history as a bitmap and move that left while adding new data to the right, somehow keeping the grid separate.  Beyond that I'm a bit lost and haven't had much luck finding anything in the forums.

Thanks in advance!

TBH using bitmaps isn't necessarily the best plan. Bitmaps involve a lot of memory copying, which is the main thing that slows down modern CPUs, whereas drawing paths is pretty fast. For example in tracktion we didn't bother trying to cache our waveforms as bitmaps, it was quicker to just render the paths each time, even when scrolling.

And building a scrollable panel using bitmaps is also pretty complicated - to do it optimally you'd need to use tiles and manage them as they go off the edge - really non-trivial stuff.

My advice would be to run a profiler on a release build, and actually measure where the bottlenecks are before you jump to any conclusions about what's going on or how to improve it. Often this can produce surprising results.

OK, thanks, I'll profile it and see.

I'm currently using g.drawLine(x1, y1, x2, y2) to draw between each data point of the graph.  Is this what you mean by render the paths each time?