Improving waveform/spectrum drawing efficiency - opengl?

Hello all,

I am a DSP engineer and have just made my first foray into application programming with c++. It is a testament to Juce and the existing code examples that I have managed to get a fully fledged application up and running in a just a few weeks.

Anyway, part of my application is a frequency analyser. I am currently drawing the trace by creating a juce::Path and using the lineTo() command to add all the line sections, then tracing the line when it’s complete. This is fine, but when the trace is quite messy looking (as in the picture) drawing all these lines (up to around 1000) is using quite a chunk of CPU; about 50%. Admittedly my computer is pretty shite but I just hope it could be better.

I was wondering whether I would be likely to see any benefits in terms of cpu efficiency if I were to use opengl? Could people who have worked with this sort of thing offer any advice? I have no prior experience of graphics programming, so it’s all a bit of a mystery to me. I’d have a go and implement it to find out myself, but I am running out of time to finish this off and can’t really afford the time if it’s not going to show any improvement. Any advice would be very welcome.

Thanks,
Pete.

Hi Pete, welcome to the forum.

Some questions/comments:

[list]
[]What refresh rate are you using? I presume your GUI runs a timerCallback and draws the most recent data? If not, triggering a draw each time processBlock is called would be overkill (unless you’re using blocksizes bigger than 2048)[/]
[]Are you using Visual Studio and launching your program from there? (see Vinnie’s post about the Windows heap being slow when a debugger is attached, also see here)[/][/list]

-Andrew