Bug Report: Slider being unresponsive when appearing in a component over top a GUI element that is being repainted

So a year or more ago I began using JUCE and it has been a long, difficult year in many coffee shops all over town. But I am pleased to report that I am now a seasoned enough veteran to finally post about my first bug report! I discovered this issue troubleshooting my app and narrowed down what was causing the issue.

The issue happens where a slider begins to become unresponsive, as in, it skips values and jumps values and makes it difficult to end up on a specific value.

I have one component that appears with using setVisible(true), and that appears over-top of a element that is below. the top element contains a slider. there is a timer callback that is running that updates the lower component pretty much every second, and it is calling repaint on this lower component. Because they both occupy the same screen space, I am guessing, this is the cause of the issue. The slider within the top component loses accuracy only when the timer callback is running and that call back is repainting the component it is appearing in front of. After extensive testing I have ruled this out to be the issue. It is very possible to just make it so the repaint call only happens if the component is visible or shown, which is how I will work around this issue but I think it is worth reporting the bug so the devs can fix it.

There are many factors that could lead to such a behaviour. Without more information we can just guess.
It could be that the redrawing of the background component (that also redraws all the children on top of it) takes too long and blocks the UI thread. Because of this the slider freezes when you drag it and the redraw happens.
You maybe have to optimise your UI (shadows, pictures, gradients, other calculations