Button functions not working

(I am a beginner in both Juce and C++)

I’m having issues updating text buttons using setButtonText and setToggleState in my own functions. The initial setup of the buttons works fine using these same functions, and everything works fine in the UI.

The strange part is that when including these functions within a buttonClicked callback, they work if the callback was triggered by me clicking a button in the UI, but not if the callback was triggered in my code using triggerClick. I am logging and can see that the callback is correctly executed by my triggerClick - so I am confused as to why I get different behaviour when this is called from a UI interaction versus manually.

Everything else about the buttons (set up as radio buttons) works fine when using the UI to trigger the buttons.

btn1.get()->setToggleState(true, dontSendNotification);

When testing, I created another button test1:

• if I click test1 in the UI it will correctly update the btn1 toggle state
  • if I click test1 in my program manually using test1.get()->triggerClick(); the buttonClicked callback is called, but btn1 state is not toggled.
if (buttonThatWasClicked == test1.get()) {
        btn1.get()->setToggleState (true, dontSendNotification);
}

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome @cfrapp,

can we go a step back and can you tell what you are trying to do?

The Button class unifies certain functionality for ALL possible buton like TextButton, CheckBox etc.
All buttons can be switched from click to toggle by setting setClickingTogglesState (true). This way one click will switch the button on and a second click turns it off again.

With that mode you don’t need (and shouldn’t) use any listener to toggle the state.

All Buttons can be a radio button by setting them to the same radio group ID setRadioGroupId (anyNumber). All buttons that are siblings and have the same ID anyNumber will become mutually exclusive.

And off-topic: