Calling a method on the parent from the child component

This most certainly couldn’t be more trivial, but since I’m still a complete novice in programming and especially in C++, I’m still scratching my head about it.

I want to call a method on a parent component from within its child component. From my searches so far on this forum, the solution I read of the most is to pass a reference of the parent down to the child. Here’s what I got:

MainComponent.h

#pragma once

#include <JuceHeader.h>
#include "ChildComponent.h"

class MainComponent  : public juce::Component
{
public:
    MainComponent();
    ~MainComponent() override;
    void paint (juce::Graphics&) override;
    void resized() override;
    void setLabelText(juce::String newText);

private:
    juce::Label textLabel;
    ChildComponent childComponent;
    JUCE_DECLARE_NON_COPYABLE_WITH_LEAK_DETECTOR (MainComponent)
};

MainComponent.cpp

#include "MainComponent.h"

MainComponent::MainComponent()
    :   childComponent(*this)
{
    setSize (600, 400);
    addAndMakeVisible(textLabel);
    textLabel.setText("Text goes here....", juce::dontSendNotification);
    addAndMakeVisible(childComponent);
}

MainComponent::~MainComponent()
{
}

void MainComponent::paint (juce::Graphics& g)
{
    g.fillAll (getLookAndFeel().findColour (juce::ResizableWindow::backgroundColourId));
}

void MainComponent::resized()
{
    textLabel.setBounds(20, 20, getWidth(), 25);
    childComponent.setBounds(0, 50, getWidth(), getHeight() - 50);
}

void MainComponent::setLabelText(juce::String newText)
{
    textLabel.setText(newText, juce::dontSendNotification);
}

ChildComponent.h

#pragma once

#include <JuceHeader.h>
#include "MainComponent.h"

class ChildComponent  : public juce::Component
{
public:
    ChildComponent(MainComponent& mainRef);
    ~ChildComponent() override;
    void paint (juce::Graphics&) override;
    void resized() override;

private:
    MainComponent& mainComponentRef;
    juce::TextButton childButton;