Can I send my input channelData to an external API?

Hi All, I’m a developer with expertise in Python, C++ and Machine Learning. I have the knowledge of DSP as well. But I’m totally new to Audio Programming.At the moment, I’m looking to implement an API that will send my audio channelData to an external API. Is it possible to do in JUCE?

void NewProjectAudioProcessor::processBlock (juce::AudioBuffer<float>& buffer, juce::MidiBuffer& midiMessages)
{
    juce::ScopedNoDenormals noDenormals;
    auto totalNumInputChannels  = getTotalNumInputChannels();
    auto totalNumOutputChannels = getTotalNumOutputChannels();

for (auto i = totalNumInputChannels; i < totalNumOutputChannels; ++i)
        buffer.clear (i, 0, buffer.getNumSamples());

for (int channel = 0; channel < totalNumInputChannels; ++channel)
    {
        auto* channelData = buffer.getWritePointer (channel);
        //send this channelData over to an API
    }
}

yes-ish… :slight_smile: you can call any code you want, but you have to be aware of the realtime constraints in processBlock, and ensure that the called API doesn’t violate those constraints.

Thank you for replying. What do you suggest if I’m looking to send my vocals sang in a DAW to an external API using a VST plugin? I want to do some processing on the vocals with the help of that external API and then get those vocals back in DAW.

I don’t understand your question? How do you mean ‘suggest’? You will have a buffer of samples which you pass to the API. I assume it will return a modified buffer? If the sample buffer formats differ, you would have to convert back and forth. Also, when you say ‘external API’, do you just mean a function call to a 3rd party library? or sending the data to another application, or service elsewhere?