Can I use SOUL or is JUCE the better choice?

Hi,
I’m new to SOUL, JUCE (and DSP). Anyway, I have an idea for a synth plugin for which I need to draw a pixelmap/image into the GUI. To be precise, I want to plot a function in the complex plane
(similar to the plot below).

SOUL would make it easier to turn the math into audio.
On the other hand, there are more resources about how to make interfaces with JUCE.

What is the best approach:

• Using SOUL and Javascript as a GUI?
  • Using SOUL, generate a JUCE project and add a GUI with JUCE.
  • Using JUCE in the first place.

I’m doing this for fun, so, I’m just interested in trying out how sounds from complex functions sound like :smiley:

PS: Of course, the formulas don’t match with the image, it’s a simple copy and paste from Wikipedia Complex analysis - Wikipedia

1 Like

I would say use SOUL for the audio and Juce for the GUI. There are great helper classes to do that, and I must say that I find Juce much more flexible than JavaScript for a custom GUI. If you read the tutorial about the LooAndFeel, you will discover that it’s very easy to modify Juce default appearance. I think Juce is one of the best way to design GUI. I tried with Swift UI and with JavaScript for different non-audio applications and it was for me more a pain in the ass to do what I wanted to do. I am not a professional audio developer, I am a producer with love for computer languages

1 Like

I’m also in exactly the same position as you and have been wondering the same question for a few weeks.

I have an idea of more or less how I would plan the programming of the Soul part (the language is certainly friendly) but the host part is taking me a lot of time to figure out.

I’d love to see some examples or tutorials of how to create a Juce project from scratch (not using the command-line tools) and then creating a custom Juce UI for it, be it React-Juce or just the mentioned LookAndFeel option Lucretio mentioned above.