Change LookAndFeel (knob graphics)

Hey all,

I’m an intern currently working on a plug-in being developed in JUCE. Most of the DSP and parameter management involved is done, so I’m turning to figure out how to implement graphics I will be provided replacing the default Slider::Rotary appearance.

In browsing old threads on the forum a bit, it seems that I will need a subclass of LookAndFeel that overrides drawRotarySlider with an implementation that uses a Graphics representation of the Image I want to use.

What I’m not understanding is how I set the LookAndFeel of a plugin to use my subclass… is it an attribute of the Editor, the Processor, or do Component objects individually reference a LookAndFeel? How can this be set?

Are there other ways to go about having custom graphics for knobs? Are there examples you could share either for implementations of PNG or SVG implementations of custom graphics for components?

1 Like

Hi TristineWild,

in essence you are right - you need to subclass the LookAndFeel class and override the drawRotarySlide method.

Have a look at this code for an example on how to do this:

Fabian

Thanks for the quick reply and example!

To use an image for the knob, I presume I would call one of the drawImage methods of the object ‘g’ within my overridden drawRotarySlider method?

Yup exactly. Martin has also written a great tutorial on this and we will be releasing it in the next few days.

2 Likes

In fact, if you’re using the “film strip” technique for drawing sliders/knobs, the only real difference between linear and rotary sliders is the mouse tracking. (The tutorial doesn’t cover this as the recommended way of drawing UI components in JUCE is draw them rather than use film strips.)

This means in your LookAndFeel that you can override these two methods to do nothing: