Child window advice required

I am new to JUCE and am considering using it for a commercial application ported across at least Windows, Mac and Linux. My background is 22 years C++ on Windows and a small amount of non-graphical real-time Linux programmming. I need to know how to do something very simple, but which is not so obvious to me from the JUCE documentation. Basically the visual framework of my application consists of a main window with 3 or 4 child windows arranged on it. It’s all standard stuff – when the main window is moved the child windows move with it, I will handle the ReSize event for the main window to resize the children, and so on. I just need to know what is the class I should use to obtain a child window with a fixed sized border. Do I use a TopLevelWindow and make it a child of the main window? How do I specify a fixed sized, non-resizing border? I’m assuming this is as easy to do as it would be in the MFC on Windows; it’s just not so obvious to a newbie,

With thanks, in anticipation of help,

Sahlan Diver

Sounds like you just want to use a DocumentWindow - they can either work as desktop windows, or just add them to any other component as a child comp.

Thanks for the hint. I’ve used ResizeableWindow rather than DocumentWindow, as I don’t want a title bar.

Also, because I don’t want my child windows to be draggable I’ve set a derived ComponentBoundsConstrainer which has checkBounds() overridden to do “bounds = previousBounds”. It successfully prevents window drag in the Microsoft Windows build I am initially testing with, and I hope that is an approved technique.

As a newcomer I have a question re JUCE programming philosophy as regards “Content Components”: