Chorus algorithm

I managed to get all my FX to my liking, but the chorus still sounds flat.

What I am doing
I have a delay line with four different read locations. There is a basedelay of 10ms and then the four “voices” are read as sin, cos, -sin, -cos scalable from 0ms to 15ms by user.
So for example voice a is read at position:
10 + 15 * mod_depth * (0.5*sin(mod_freq*t) + 0.5)
The voices are then added up, while the dry signal is ommitted.

Am I doing this wrong? I expect the sound to be this warm choir-type sound, while it still rather sounds like a phaser.

Hi,
I am not an expert, but did you try to shift delayed signals in panorama?
I played a bit with chorus and I also find out that it is not so easy to get rich sound.

Good luck. :slight_smile:
Mateusz

Thats a good Idea, I will try it thanks!

Add some dry signal, otherwise it is a phasor, isn’t it?
Do you use a fractional delay line?

From what I’ve read the phaser always has dry signal (50% dry, 50% allpass).
See this graphic from Wikipedia
Or is there other ways still to do the phaser?

The definition of the chorus is somewhat more ambiguous, sometimes its only two delay lines, sometimes more and sometimes dry signal as well.

It is also possible in my algorithm to add dry signal via DryWet control, but that doesn’t help :wink:

This one actually improved the sound quite a bit, thanks mate :slight_smile:

But yeah overall Chorus, Phaser and Flanger are very closely related (with the Flanger technically even being a Phaser)

By fractional you mean I can have delay times which are not an integer amount of samples? If so yes.