Click detector

Anybody knows any useful literature on click detectors? This is not JUCE specific but I’m sure many of you have gone through the same problem. I’m also new to the DSP module that was recently introduced so I wonder if there is something related there.

The problem: I’m trying to figure out if some audio loops that I’m playing are click-free or need a fade in/out.

I’ve found this one by googling quickly: http://gwc.sourceforge.net/gwc_science/node6.html
Sounds quite reasonable. Any suggestions for the “sensitivity” value?

Maybe you simply want detect zero crossing?

Thanks, that sounds like the simpler approach, yes. Do you think it is consistent? Did it work on cymbals for you? Any advice for the epsilon?
abs(buffer[0]-buffer[endOfLoop])<epsilon

The equation you posted has not so much to do with zero crossing detection, I assume you want to find out if the last sample of your loop buffer is near the first one to avoid big jumps, right? It might be possible that you’ll find such a case but it’s luck and relatively unlikely.
Zero detection means that you should modify your buffer in such a way that it always starts and ends with a sample with the value zero. You do that by scanning the start and end of your buffer for the first / last time your sample values change from positive to negative or the other way round.

Now you could try just setting all samples before and after that point hard to zero or apply a gain ramp over a few samples at the beginning and the end of the buffer. Give it a try, maybe it is that simple.

By the way, I just had a quick look at the link from your first post. Seems like the topic there is spotting clicks in recorded material that were caused by bad cables, microphones or something like that rather than smoothing out artificial clicking caused by cuts that are not located at a zero crossing point.