Coding an AAX MIDI Reverse (retrograde) and Inversion plugin for a newbie!

Hello all,

I am new to this wonderful place, and generally new to coding as well.

How would one create a simple MIDI plugin that does two things (separately, two basic parameters) as a utilitarian AAX plugin…

1. Reverses a MIDI clip (flips it horizontally/arranges it to be backwards, in reverse)

2. Inverts a MIDI clip (inverts the intervals in a given melody)

This seems very simple to do. After reading up on the Arpeggiator tutorial on the site, I think I am getting an idea of how this could be programmed. Unfortunately I don’t have the time to be able to get to really understanding how to code it, as I am swamped with working on a commercial project that goes far into my foreseeable future.

I am wondering, if anyone would be willing to provide some insight and or code this? And then perhaps create a very simple tutorial/guide on the process of doing so. Or if anyone would be willing to do one or the other.

It’s interesting because this is a nice feature, just two little buttons, in Ableton. However, Pro Tools has yet to implement something in their recent MIDI updates that is extremely simple and helpful when composing.

Especially the time reverse is tricky because it definitely requires access to the entire MIDI data in the clips at one go. (The interval inversion probably requires it too…) JUCE does not support making plugins that can do that. There is basically support only for plugins that get a small buffer of audio or MIDI under the playcursor and which need to output their processing results as soon as possible.

Ahh, interesting…

Perhaps specifically for just interval inversion…? An arpeggiator style plugin could be coded that as you said listens in real time and immediately outputs midi data inverted. A simple function that transposes every incoming midi event to it’s inversion, and outputs the result.